Pesto Sauce from scratch. (well, technically..)

I have been a fan of pasta since i can’t remember when. One big influence would be my mom’s favorite spicy tuna spaghetti that became our family’s favorite party staple. No occassion goes without it (if we can afford it that time). 🍝🍝🍝 

The fondness grew eventually and the urge to order it out when I was younger was a better option than rice more often than not. But because of the limitations with the restaurants who can serve halal, we can only try so few. Luckily, The Chicken World in Glorietta offered me a place where pasta can be enjoyed without blinking. They serve pesto. I believe this was the first time I tried this sauce and I loved it. 😋

So with the immense time that I have, Alhamdulillah,a certain craving to try it at home emerged. 😞 Searching through the web, I found out that it was just an easy bitsy. So easy that luckily we can use dried basil flakes too! Accordingly, as long as its basil, parmesan and olive oil, its still pesto. And boy, was I excited. 


Ingredients that I used based on what I have in my kitchen:

  • Around 3 teaspoons of basil flakes. 
  • 1/4 cup of almond nuts. 
  • 4-5 teaspoons of parmesan cheese 
  • 1/2 cup of olive oil. 
  • Salt and pepper to taste. 

Special thanks to my friend Sawsan who brought me olive oil from Jordan. <happy! 🤗>

Procedure:

  1. Place all dry ingredients to your blender. Blend until all the ingredients are grounded. Specially the nuts. 
  2. According to various recipe sites, you have to put olive oil little by little in the blender until your desired consistency. I had it done this way. 

The first outcome of my paste was a little string and bitter. What I did was google how to save a bitter pesto. Turned out that olive oil turns bitter with machine blending. So if you can, because I tried this only once, try to hand-blend olive oil instead. I fixed mine by adding more parmesan and olive oil to thin out the bitter taste. It worked! Just be careful in putting it to your pasta. Add little by little and test. You don’t want to throw good pasta over bad pesto, do you?😜

Eat it with grilled or fried chicken and enjoy! 😎

Leave a Reply

